The End of triathletewithacollar

image

I was blessed to spend the last 5 months with almost no access to the internet or my cellphone. During this time I learned a lot about myself and a lot about my relationship with God. At one point I was reflecting on this blog and came to the realization that the title “triathletewithacollar” is really rather irrelevant at this point in my life. I no longer consider myself a triathlete (I haven’t done a race in over a year and a half and I currently don’t even own a bike), and I don’t plan on wearing a Roman collar but a Carmelite habit for the rest of my life. Perhaps the irrelevance of the name is a sign that it is time to say goodbye to triathletewithacollar.

I started this blog 5 years ago in order to keep my friends and family up to date with my life while I was away at seminary. Quickly triathletewithacollar became something I had not planned (and honestly had not wanted) it to be. I don’t really like writing and I’m not particularly good at it, yet thousands of people were visiting this blog to read my rambling reflections – obviously not interested in me, but interested in truth. I’m glad that God has helped me to occasionally step out of the way enough to allow His light to shine forth to so many of you.

I thank God for all of you, especially for those of you who took time to reach out to me. I’m especially thankful for the friends I’ve made from all over the world through this blog. You’ve made all the little frustrations well worth it!

Alas, I think that this is an appropriate time for me to step away from this blog and focus that energy on praying for all of you. Please continue to pray for me as I move forward with my discernment and know that we are united in the love of Jesus Christ!

Verso l’alto,

triathletewithacollar

About triathletewithacollar

I'm a sinner, but I trust in the love and mercy of God. I enjoy all things endurance: running, cycling, swimming, climbing, and hiking. I'm studying to be a Catholic priest. I like to read, brew beer, hunt, and play the saxophone. You can contact me at johnmaryocd@gmail.com View all posts by triathletewithacollar

Comments are disabled.

