The One Reason I’m Not Blowing Up Abortion Clinics

flash-fireThis is a question I’ve asked myself
from time to time: if I really believe that abortion is murder why am I not doing more to physically stop it?  If you knew that tomorrow your friend was going to take her 2 year old girl and 5 year old boy into a building to have them killed, would you not do all that you can to stop it, even resulting to physical force?  The lives of over 3,000 young boys and girls are ended each day in the United States, and I just sit back and let it happen.  It’s not like I would hurt anyone; I could set fire to the building after it is closed and save lives through its destruction.  Even if it were only to delay the inevitable, shouldn’t I be fighting for the lives of those who can’t fight for themselves?  So why not?

There is only one reason why I am not blowing up abortion clinics: because the ends do not justify the means.  Saving the lives of hundreds of defenseless human beings sounds like a great good to me, and it could come at the small cost of some property damage.  However, we cannot perform immoral actions in order to bring about a situation, no matter how good the situation may seem.  The good consequences of an action can never make an evil action the right thing to do.  If they did, absolutely any evil action could be justified given the right circumstances – rape, child abuse, or even murder.

Ironically, the reason why I’m not blowing up abortion clinics is the exact same reason why abortion is morally inexcusable: because the ends do not justify the means.  Imagine that there is a single mother who is struggling each day to put enough food on the table for her four young children.  She finds herself pregnant once again, but she feels there is no way she could possibly provide for another child.  It seems like abortion would be the best choice for her, the best choice for her four young children, and the best choice for her baby who would be forced to grow up in such a difficult situation.  However, the ends do not justify the means.  The killing of an innocent and defenseless human being can never be justified, no matter how much better it seems to make a difficult situation.  We cannot blow up abortion clinics in order to save lives, we cannot lie or cheat to get ahead at the workplace, we cannot steal in order to help those in need, and we certainly cannot murder in order to keep our families out of difficult situations.

Verso l’alto,

triathletewithacollar

About triathletewithacollar

I'm a sinner, but I trust in the love and mercy of God. I enjoy all things endurance: running, cycling, swimming, climbing, and hiking. I'm studying to be a Catholic priest. I like to read, brew beer, hunt, and play the saxophone. You can contact me at johnmaryocd@gmail.com View all posts by triathletewithacollar

Comments are disabled.

